Former WKU Offensive Lineman Adam Smith Signs With NFL's Tampa Bay Buccaneers

BOWLING GREEN, Ky. – Former WKU offensive lineman Adam Smith has signed with the NFL’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers as an undrafted free agent, the team announced Monday.

Smith becomes the 48th player in WKU football history to sign with a NFL team as an undrafted free agent. Adam Smith joins former defensive end Quanterus Smith in the NFL, who was selected by the Denver Broncos in the fifth round of the NFL Draft Saturday. With both players finding NFL homes, WKU has now had 77 players sign with or get drafted by NFL teams.

Four former Hilltoppers have been signed or drafted in the past two seasons, as Quanterus Smith and Adam Smith join 2012 signees Bobby Rainey (Baltimore Ravens) and Derrius Brooks (Cincinnati Bengals).

Adam Smith heads to the Buccaneers as one of the most durable offensive lineman in WKU history. Smith played in 48 of a possible 49 games during his career on the Hill, missing one game in 2010. Smith and the WKU offensive line paved the way for running back Antonio Andrews’ 1,728 yards on the ground in 2012, which surpassed the school record set by Bobby Rainey in 2011. The stellar season on the ground gave WKU its third-straight 1,500-yard rusher, making WKU one of only five programs in NCAA history to produce three-consecutive 1,500-yard rushers.

Adam Smith is the third player in WKU history to sign with Tampa Bay and the first since Eddie Godfrey inked with the Buccaneers in 1991. Tampa Bay hosts its first rookie mini-camp on May 4-6. Official team activities begin May 15.

WKU has now had 22 different seasons in which multiple players have been either drafted or signed in by an NFL team in the same year.

WKU NFL Draftees/Signees (Same Year)

2013 – Quanterus Smith (5th), Adam Smith (UDFA)

2012- Bobby Rainey (UDFA), Derrius Brooks (UDFA)

2009 – Dan Cline (UDFA), Greg Ryan (UDFA)

2003 – Jeremi Johnson (4th), Sherrod Coates (UDFA), Anthony Oakley (UDFA)

2002 - Joseph Jefferson (3rd), Mel Mitchell (5th)

2000 – Rod Smart (UDFA), Ben Wittman (UDFA)

1991- Eddie Godfrey (UDFA), Riley Ware (UDFA)

1990 - Jerome Martin Packers (10th), Webbie Burnett (11th), Anthony Green (UDFA), Xavier Jordan (UDFA), Jonathan Watts (UDFA)

1989 – Tony Brown (UDFA), Glenn Holt (UDFA), Dean Tiebout (UDFA)

1988 – David Smith (8th), Malcolm Darden (UDFA), James Edwards (UDFA),  Steve Walsh (UDFA), Harold Wright (UDFA)

1987- Mark Johnson (UDFA), Keith Paskett (UDFA)

1985 – Ronnie Fishback (UDFA), Tim Mooney (UDFA), Brad Todd (UDFA)

1984 – Paul Gray (UDFA), Jim King (UDFA)

1983 – Davlin Mullen (8th), Tom Fox (UDFA), Ron Hunter (UDFA), Mike Miller  (UDFA), John Newby (UDFA)

1982 – Lamont Meacham (11th), Donnie Evans (UDFA), Troy Snardon (UDFA)

1981 – Ray Farmer (UDFA), Ricky Gwinn (UDFA), Phil Rich (UDFA), Pete Walters (UDFA)

1979 – Darryl Drake (UDFA), Tony Towns (UDFA)

1975 - Virgil Livers (4th), John Bushong (8th)

1974 – Mike McCoy (8th), Clarence Jackson (16th), Brad Watson (UDFA)

1971 – Billy Green (15th), Lawrence Brame (16th), Sam Pearson (17th

1965- Dale Lindsey (7th), Jim Burt (10th)

1953- Robert Simpson (unknown), Jimmy Feix (unknown) – New York Giants

How to Follow the Hilltoppers: For complete information on WKU Hilltopper Football, follow the program via social media @WKUFootball on Twitter and on Facebook at