WKU Accepts Bubas Cup, Lange Named to SBC Leadership Team at Honors Banquet

May 20, 2014

DESTIN, Fla. -- The Sun Belt Conference held its annual honors banquet Tuesday night in Destin, Fla., where WKU accepted its all-sports championship trophy and soccer student-athlete Torrie Lange was named to the conference's leadership team.

The Bubas Cup, named for the Sun Belt Conference's first commissioner, Vic Bubas, is given annually to the conference school that accumulates the most points throughout the athletic year based on its finish in the league standings in each sport. WKU won Sun Belt Conference championships in soccer, volleyball, women's basketball, women's indoor track and field and women's outdoor track and field in 2013-14, with baseball still to be completed.

With men's and women's swimming competing in Conference USA in 2013-14, WKU won the Bubas Cup with only 17 sports scoring points towards the total. In total, 10 WKU teams finished in the top-three of their respective league standings in 2013-14.

In addition to the conference awards being handed out Tuesday evening, Lange was named to the Sun Belt Conference Leadership Team. The team is made up of a letterwinning student-athlete from each conference institution based on leadership, sportsmanship, community service, citizenship, academic excellence and other key qualities valued by the institution.

WKU's student-athletes graduate at a 70 percent clip, which is 20 percent higher than the rest of the university student body. WKU student-athletes, coaches and staff completed over 1,000 hours of community service in 2013-14, and WKU has had more student-athletes honored by the Sun Belt Conference for academic achievement than any other conference school for nine-consecutive years.

For more information on WKU Athletics, visit WKUSports.com or follow the athletic department via social media @WKUSports on Twitter and on Facebook at facebook.com/WKUAthletics.